Many of our clients ask about the inputs, additives, treatment and other process related to the wines that we carry, so we put the question to our suppliers. What follows is a summary from each supplier.
While we cannot guarantee any details, we do recommend that if you have allergies or dietary issues – especially when they are severe – you avoid alcohol products entirely, especially commercial wines that seem to be too good to be true. We’ve heard many stories about people drinking cheap wines only to discover that there’s a reason why they’re cheap. They also discover that a wine maker may wind up adding flavours or other additives simply to draw in people looking for ‘nose of chocolate or cocoa’, typically to ensure higher scores with the bigger wine reviewers.
As an aside, Wired Magazine wrote a great article about this issue. They looked at some of the traditional methods of wine making and combined them with modern, commercial methods to warn the average consumer about what’s going into the bottle. While the basics of the article were fairly superficial and upset a number of wine industry folks, it’s still important to note that it’s getting easier to pass off mass-produced ‘McWines’ as ‘genuine’ (and sometimes ‘premium’) products.
We’ve asked all of our suppliers to identify if their wines can be considered vegan or gluten-free and what follows is a summary of their responses.
|Noteworthy Wines: Vegan & Gluten-Free Summary|
|Villa Venti||Yes||Yes||Certified Organic;
|Zantho||Whites – No
Reds – Yes
|Yes||Whites filtered in gelatine which are filtered out|
|Le Velette||Yes||Yes||Some wines aged ‘tuffeau’|
|Grady||Yes||Yes||Lodi Sustainability Guidelines Applied; No yeast present in bottle|
Vegan-friendly: Yes. Villa Venti does not use eonological products derived from animals (fish, meat, bone, egg, milk) for any part of their process, including filtering or fining.
Gluten-free: Yes. They have never used eonological products with gluten or similar cereal-based products.
For other dietary considerations, Villa Venti noted that they only use clay during the wine clarification.
Official certification of gluten-free is available for any of our clients, but there is a basic fee of €150 for the documentation and analysis.
Zantho Fine Wines
Zantho wines are all gluten-free.
However, the white wines (Sauvignon Blanc, Gruner Veltliner, Muscat Ottonel) are not considered strictly vegan because the musts come into contact with gelatine through fining. These gelatines may contain animal residues, but they are all completely filtered out during filtration.
The reds are suitable for vegans, as they do not come into contact with any products derived from animals or animal proteins.
Tenuta Le Velette
Le Velette wines do not contain any gluten and they do not introduce any fining or clarification products derived from animals.
Therefore, all Le Velette wines are considered vegan-friendly.
Grady Family Vineyards
All of the Grady wines are vegan-friendly and gluten-free.
Grady does not use any fining agents for our wines. They filter their wines through a sterile pad filter to clarify wine before bottling. They do not use animal proteins to fine or clarify their wines.
On another note, they only use grapes (other companies may use different sugars to make their wine) and everything is sterile filtered before bottling, so no yeast is present in the bottle.
Background: Use of Proteins in Wine Making
Most wines (but not all) are filtered or clarified in order to reduce or eliminate sediment, bits and other materials that may accumulate during the process of making wine.
These bits come from the grapes, skins, pulp, stems and other debris that may get into the wine when the grapes are first crushed.
Wine Folly has an exceptional article on Additives in the Wine Making process that you should take a few minutes to read if you have any dietary concerns.
That said, you are always welcome to contact us to discuss any concerns you may have. We will do our best to answer immediately or research further.